Best GEO Software
All posts
By Best GEO Software Teamprompt trackingotterlypeec aiprofoundscrunch ai

AI Search Visibility Monitoring for Brands: Prompts in Otterly, Peec, Profound, and Scrunch

How Otterly, Peec, Profound, and Scrunch handle prompts: limits, engines, refresh, personas, and regions, with a worked cost for a 100-prompt list and Promptwatch as the benchmark.

Brands comparing Otterly, Peec, Profound, and Scrunch usually compare their dashboards. The better comparison is the prompt, because the prompt is the unit you pay for and the unit every number in the dashboard is built from. How many you get, which engines each one runs on, how often, and what context you can attach to it (a persona, a country) decide whether the tool measures your market or a rough sketch of it.

This guide compares the four tools on prompt handling alone, using what our directory listings say about each. It then costs out the same 100-prompt list in each one. We include Promptwatch as the benchmark to evaluate first, because it publishes more prompt-level detail than any of the four, and we rank the rest in the order a brand should look at them: Scrunch AI, Profound, then Otterly.AI and Peec AI.

Build the prompt list before any demo

Vendors will offer to generate prompts for you. Take the suggestions, but start from your own list. Pull questions from sales calls, support tickets, on-site search, and Search Console queries that read like questions. Group them by topic and buying stage, remove duplicates, and count what's left, because that count drives every quote you'll get. Decide which engines matter, and whether you sell in more than one country. Now you have a requirement a vendor has to price, rather than a demo they get to steer.

How each tool handles prompts

PromptwatchScrunch AIProfoundOtterly.AIPeec AI
Entry prompt allowance50 (Essential, $95/mo)350 custom plus 1,000 industry (Starter, $250/mo annual)50, ChatGPT only (Starter, $99/mo annual)15 (Lite, $29/mo)50 (Starter, $95/mo)
Engines at entryFull paid set incl. ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI OverviewsUp to nine at top tierChatGPT only; 3 on Growth4 base engines3 models included
How engines are countedPer planCredits consumed per enginePer plan tierGemini, Claude, AI Mode as add-onsExtra models $35 to $165/mo each
Refresh on listingDailyWeeklyNot statedUp to 7 days staleNot stated
Prompt volumes and difficultyYesNot documentedPrompt Volumes dataset (full on Enterprise)Not documentedNot documented
Query fan-outsYesNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
PersonasYesYes, with significant setupNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
LocationCountry, state, cityNot documented at city levelNot documented65+ countriesNot documented
HistoryPrompt trends with what changed between checksNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNo backfill; starts on subscription

Scrunch AI

Scrunch is the most generous on raw prompt count, with 350 custom prompts on Starter plus a library of 1,000 industry prompts. Read the fine print, though. Credits are consumed per engine, so a prompt tracked on five engines uses five times the allowance, and the listing notes that multi-engine tracking burns through credits much faster than advertised. Personas exist but take significant configuration. Data refreshes weekly. Its distinctive feature isn't prompt tracking at all: the Agent Experience Platform serves AI-optimized page versions to crawlers.

Profound

Profound's Prompt Volumes dataset of real query demand is useful for choosing which prompts to track. The full version sits on Enterprise, which starts around $40k a year. Self-serve plans are tight: Starter is ChatGPT-only with 50 prompts and one seat, and Growth is $399/mo annual for 100 prompts on three engines with a 7-day trial. Billing is annual only. Its listing notes that setup realistically takes one to three months with a dedicated owner.

Otterly.AI

Otterly is the easiest to start. Lite is $29/mo ($25 annual) for 15 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, and Copilot. Fifteen prompts is enough to see how the product works and not enough to measure a brand. Standard is $189/mo ($160 annual) for 100 prompts, and extra prompts cost $99/mo per 100. Gemini, Claude, and AI Mode are add-ons costing $9 to $149/mo. It covers 65+ countries. Data can be up to seven days old.

Peec AI

Peec scores visibility per prompt over time and tracks competitor share per prompt. Starter is $95/mo for 50 prompts, three models, and one project, with unlimited seats. Each model beyond three costs $35 to $165/mo, and Claude and DeepSeek are Enterprise-only. There's no historical backfill, so your prompt history starts the day you pay.

Costing a 100-prompt list

Take a list of 100 prompts that you want on ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Gemini. Using list prices only:

  • Promptwatch: Professional at $245/mo covers 150 prompts across the paid engine set, with two projects.
  • Scrunch AI: Starter at $250/mo annual has 350 custom prompts, but per-engine credit consumption means three engines will draw roughly three times the credits. Ask for the effective number in writing.
  • Profound: Growth at $399/mo annual covers exactly 100 prompts on three engines. Confirm Perplexity and Gemini are the three, alongside ChatGPT, or you're short one.
  • Otterly.AI: Standard at $189/mo covers 100 prompts on the four base engines, plus a Gemini add-on at $9 to $149/mo depending on tier.
  • Peec AI: Starter covers 50 prompts, so 100 prompts needs a quote. If Gemini isn't among your three included models, add $35 to $165/mo.

The cheapest line isn't automatically the best buy. Otterly's number assumes data up to a week old. Profound's assumes annual billing. Scrunch's depends on credits you'll have to model.

Questions to put to vendors in writing

  1. Is my allowance counted per prompt or per prompt per engine?
  2. How often does each prompt run on each engine on my plan?
  3. Can I attach a persona and a location to each prompt, and at what plan?
  4. If I replace a prompt, does it count against my allowance again?
  5. Do you show prompt demand so I can tell busy prompts from quiet ones?

Why Promptwatch is the one to evaluate first

What sets Promptwatch apart for a brand is the data attached to each prompt. Search volumes and difficulty scores tell you whether a prompt is worth tracking. Query fan-outs show the sub-searches an engine runs to answer it, which is often where the content gap is (our query fan-outs explainer covers the mechanics). Personas and country, state, or city targeting let one prompt measure several markets. Prompt trends show how visibility moved over time and what changed between checks. Monitoring runs on the real ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and other interfaces, plus Google AI Overviews and AI Mode.

Essential is $95/mo for 50 prompts with a 7-day trial; Professional $245/mo for 150; Business $579/mo for 350. Load your list at promptwatch.com, then run the same list in whichever of the four you're comparing it against.